Search
Close this search box.
Search

FAQ Grüner Strom-Label

What you should know about green electricity

Grüner Strom-Label

Frequently asked questions

With Green Electricity-certified green electricity tariffs, guaranteed investments flow into the expansion of renewable energies. The level of investment is determined by a fixed amount per kilowatt hour consumed. Thus, your green power purchase indirectly influences investments in the energy transition.The funding areas include the mobility transition, energy infrastructure, energy efficiency, and other projects that serve the energy transition, such as nature conservation, development cooperation, and education.

The full range of funding opportunities can be found in the criteria catalog for the Grüner Strom-Label. Selected energy transition projects can be found here.

The Grüner Strom-Label is awarded for a green electricity tariff, not for the provider itself. The label criteria therefore relate primarily to the tariff.Thus, the Grüner Strom-Label can be found on tariffs of independent green electricity providers as well as on tariffs of municipal utilities that sell conventional electricity in addition to the certified green electricity.

Nevertheless, the Green Electricity certification also looks at aspects concerning the supplier. For example, the Grüner Strom-Label will not be granted to any company that is still directly involved in a coal-fired power plant on the cut-off date of 1.1.2027, i.e. operates a coal-fired power plant itself or is involved in an operating company with share capital/share capital. Participation in nuclear power plants is also an exclusion criterion.

In our Tariff portal of the environmental associations "vergleich-dich-gruen" You will find all tariffs and can easily switch to a real green electricity tariff with a Grüner Strom-Label.

The term green electricity

Green electricity is electrical energy that comes from renewable sources. It can be generated from solar radiation, wind and water power, biomass, geothermal energy or sewage gas. Electricity from renewable sources is ecologically and socially sound because it protects the climate and reduces the consumption of fossil, finite resources. In addition, it does not produce hazardous waste, such as radioactive waste from nuclear power plants. When you buy green electricity, it doesn't mean that green electricity is actually coming out of the pipe. Every kilowatt hour generated flows into an electricity lake, from which it is then redistributed to end customers. In other words, everyone gets the same physical electricity. But every single green electricity customer helps to make the electricity lake ever greener. However, green electricity does not automatically promote the energy transition. For this, additional investments must be made in the expansion of renewable energies. This is guaranteed by tariffs that carry the Green Electricity label. - -

Electricity from renewable energies is ecologically and socially acceptable because it protects the climate and the environment. Consumption of fossil, finite resources reduced is produced. In addition, no hazardous waste is produced, such as radioactive waste from nuclear power plants.

When you buy green electricity, this does not mean that green electricity actually comes out of the line. Every kilowatt hour generated flows into a Stromseefrom which it is then redistributed to the end customers. In other words, everyone receives the same physical electricity. But every single green electricity customer helps to make the electricity lake ever greener.

- - -

The numerous green electricity tariffsavailable on the energy market differ significantly from one another.

The crucial point with a green electricity tariff is whether consumers are choosing a green electricity tariff with their purchase decision. . . environmentally compatible expansion of renewable energies is subsidized. This is not the case with many green electricity offers.

It is important to make the electricity mix greener, Incentives for the expansion of renewable energies This is where the Grüner Strom-Label comes in: if you choose a tariff that has been awarded our seal of approval, you can be sure that every kilowatt hour you consume will go towards the expansion of renewable energies. The guaranteed investments in the environmentally compatible expansion of renewable energies are an essential Distinguishing feature compared to many other green electricity labels and green electricity tariffs.

Green electricity tariffs for private customers require an investment of at least 0.5 cents per kilowatt hour. Many energy providers also invest more than 0.5 cents per kilowatt hour.

. tariff portal of the environmental associations for switching energy providers. .

For trade customers, the Subsidy contribution are lower due to the higher consumption values: they range from 0.1 cents to 0.4 cents per kilowatt hour.

Yes. Green electricity tariffs do not necessarily have to bear a label. Certification by the Grüner Strom-Label or other seals of approval is voluntary. There are electricity providers who do not have their tariffs independently verified at all. Here, consumers must decide for themselves how credible the offer is.

In addition, it is not the energy providers that are certified, but only the individual tariffs. You can find more information about our certification here.

Origin of green electricity

Every energy provider that sells green electricity to its customers must Guarantees of origin of the Federal Environment Agency (UBA) - that is the legal basis.

Guarantees of origin
A guarantee of origin is an electronic document that works in a similar way to a birth certificate. It certifies how and where electricity from renewable energy sources was produced. At the same time, this document ensures that this quality can only be sold once.

The legally required purchase of guarantees of origin for the sale of green electricity is not sufficient to generate an additional benefit for the environment (see FAQ "What legal rules apply to green electricity?" for an explanation of "Guarantee of origin"). The reason for this is that the guarantees can be traded independently of the actual quantities of electricity.

Only if the so-called Optional coupling the energy supplier actually purchases electricity from a renewable generation plant for its green electricity customers. This is because the electricity and the guarantee of origin then come from the same green power plant. In the case of green electricity certification, such a Coupled electricity supply mandatory. Consumers for whom this is important should ask their electricity provider specifically about this or look out for the Grüner Strom-Label when choosing a tariff.

However, coupled procurement alone is not enough to drive forward the energy transition. It requires the expansion of renewable generation plants - that is THE guaranteed added value of green electricity-certified tariffs (see FAQ chapter "Green electricity with added value").

Green electricity with added value

With Green Electricity-certified green electricity tariffs, guaranteed investments flow into the expansion of renewable energies. The level of investment is determined by a fixed amount per kilowatt hour consumed. Thus, your green power purchase indirectly influences investments in the energy transition.. The funding areas include the mobility transition, energy infrastructure, energy efficiency, and other projects that serve the energy transition, such as nature conservation, development cooperation, and education.

The full range of funding opportunities can be found in the criteria catalog for the Grüner Strom-Label. Selected energy transition projects can be found here.

In the construction of new renewable energy generation plants, Grüner Strom Label e.V. in many cases defines environmental requirements that go beyond what is required by law. This ensures that the subsidies flow into plants with the highest environmental standards.

Before funding can flow into projects, a concept must be submitted and approved by Grüner Strom Label e.V.. In the catalog of criteria for the Grüner Strom-Label you will find more information about this.

Thanks to the customers of the certified green electricity tariffs, energy turnaround projects are being implemented on an ongoing basis. On our Germany map you can see where these plants and projects are located, what capacity they have, when they were built and by which provider they were funded.

Certification process and certified tariffs

The Grüner Strom-Label is the only green electricity label in Germany that is supported by leading civil society organizations. You can find an overview of our supporting organizations here.

The label was created at the end of 1998 on the initiative of EUROSOLAR by several non-profit environmental and consumer associations as well as peace organizations to promote the expansion of renewable energies and to ensure credibility and transparency in the emerging green electricity market. Through the work of the sponsoring associations on the board and in the general meeting, they continue to play a key role in shaping certification to this day. Changes in the label's criteria, for example, must be approved by all the sponsoring associations.

The Grüner Strom-Label is awarded for a green electricity tariff, not for the provider itself. The label criteria therefore relate primarily to the tariff.Thus, the Grüner Strom-Label can be found on tariffs of independent green electricity providers as well as on tariffs of municipal utilities that sell conventional electricity in addition to the certified green electricity.

Nevertheless, the Green Electricity certification also looks at aspects concerning the supplier. For example, the Grüner Strom-Label will not be granted to any company that is still directly involved in a coal-fired power plant on the cut-off date of 1.1.2027, i.e. operates a coal-fired power plant itself or is involved in an operating company with share capital/share capital. Participation in nuclear power plants is also an exclusion criterion.

The electricity suppliers have contractually agreed to have their certified tariffs audited for each calendar year. To this end, they submit documents on the basis of which it is checked whether the criteria of the label have been met.

The results are summarized in an expert opinion and Validated by an independent institute and the Management Board. The Grüner Strom Label e.V. then decides whether the label will be extended and what conditions, if any, are associated with it.

Energy suppliers who would like to receive the Grüner Strom-Label for a tariff apply for initial certification using forms. If there is nothing to prevent certification, Grüner Strom Label e.V. and the supplier conclude a Label agreement The provider then undertakes to comply with the criteria. The label is then issued and the tariff can be sold. You can find more information about the initial certification here.

Subsequently, at the latest audited every two years by Grüner Strom Label e.V. to determine whether the criteria are being were. The expert opinions are then reviewed by the independent GUT Certification Company for Management Systems mbH and the Executive Board. The Grüner Strom Label e.V. then decides whether the label will be extended and what conditions, if any, are associated with it. You can find more information about the certification process here.

Yes, there are costs associated with certification for the label holder:

  • a certification fee, which is charged every two years for the preparation of the expert opinions, and
  • a label usage fee, which is charged annually and the amount of which depends on sales in the certified tariff.

The office of the Grüner Strom Label e.V. is financed with the label usage fee. It acts as an interface between the energy providers and the association's bodies, supports certification, advises consumers and energy providers, and handles public relations for Grüner Strom Label e.V.

Green power supplier with Grüner Strom-Label

You can find all the energy suppliers that offer certified green electricity here.

Among them are several nationwide providers as well as local and regional energy suppliers. In our tariff portal of the environmental associations for switching energy providers. You will find all tariffs and can easily switch to a real green electricity tariff with a Grüner Strom-Label.

Companies that operate nuclear power plants themselves or are directly involved in such plants cannot have their green electricity certified with the Grüner Strom-Label.
The Grüner Strom-Label will also not be issued to any company that still has a direct stake in a coal-fired power plant as of the reporting date of Jan. 1, 2027, i.e., operates a coal-fired power plant itself or has a stake in an operating company with share capital/share capital.

The aforementioned requirements for the energy provider (no participation in coal-fired and nuclear power plants) also apply equally to direct parent companies that have a stake of more than 50 percent in the label recipient, as well as direct subsidiaries in which the label recipient has a stake of more than 50 percent.

When an energy supplier goes bankrupt, the end customers affected usually fall back into the Basic supply of the local public utility - Electricity and gas therefore continue to flow.

The Grüner Strom Label e.V. requests the energy provider to inform its customers about such a change. As a rule, customers also receive information from their local basic supplier.

This is what we have achieved together

By choosing a certified green electricity or biogas tariff, you are directly supporting the energy transition. For every kilowatt hour consumed, a fixed amount flows into the expansion of renewable energies - that's sustainable thinking.

1
Satisfied green electricity customers
1
certified green electricity tariffs
1
Promoted energy transition projects
1
Invested subsidies (€)
comparison-you-green.com website on-smartphone

Switch to a certified green electricity tariff or biogas tariff now!

There are already several online comparison portals for electricity and gas rates. So what's the point of another one?

At the comparison portal of the environmental associations, consumers can compare high-quality and exclusively certified green electricity and biogas tariffs.

compare-yourself-green offers you the opportunity to actively participate in an energy transition that is environmentally friendly, decentralized, citizen-oriented, for the common good, fair and pollutant-free through your purchasing decisions.

Stay up to date

Sign up for our newsletter

Salutation*
     
Privacy*

Please also note our data protection.


Grüner Strom Label e.V. | Kaiserstrasse 113 | 53113 Bonn | Germany
Tel: +49 (0)228 / 522 611-90 | E-Mail: info@gruenerstromlabel.de

Want to learn more?

Then feel free to contact us and follow us on social media.

FAQ Grüner Strom-Label

Welcome to the service portal

On this page you will find all the important documents about the Green Electricity and Green Gas Label.

Grüner Strom-Label

Here you can find all the documents about the Green Electricity Label.

Green electricity tariffs awarded with the Grüner Strom-Label guarantee investments in energy transition projects that are compatible with nature.

Green Gas Label

Here you can find all the documents about the Green Gas Label.

Grünes Gas-Label

Green electricity label

Links directly to the subsections:

Range 1

Range 1

Range 1

Range 1

Range 1

Green electricity tariffs awarded with the Grüner Strom-Label guarantee investments in energy transition projects that are compatible with nature.

Your contact person

Elisa Voß

Elisa Voß

Working student Online Communication

Range 1

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

placeholder image LibreOffice Calc

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

Range 2

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

Green Gas Label

Links directly to the subsections:

Range 1

Range 1

Range 1

Range 1

Range 1

Range 1

Grünes Gas-Label

Your contact

Gruener-Strom employee-Christian

Christian Knops

Green Gas Certification Manager

Range 1

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

placeholder image LibreOffice Calc

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

Range 2

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

PDF placeholder icon

catalog of criteria

The criteria catalog...

Together for the energy turnaround

Your contact persons:inside

Elisa Voß

Elisa Voß

Working student Online Communication

Gruener-Strom employee-Christian

Christian Knops

Green Gas Certification Manager

Gruener-Strom employee-Nina

Nina Cernohorsky

Speaker Green Gas, Green Power Certification

Suche
Schließen Sie dieses Suchfeld.
Suche

FAQ Grüner Strom-Label

Was du über Ökostrom wissen solltest

Grüner Strom-Label

Häufige Fragen

Bei Grüner Strom-zertifizierten Ökostromtarifen fließen garantierte Investitionen in den Ausbau Erneuerbarer Energien. Die Investitionshöhe wird durch einen festgelegten Betrag je verbrauchter Kilowattstunde bestimmt. Somit beeinflusst dein Ökostrombezug mittelbar auch die Investitionen in die Energiewende. Die Förderbereiche umfassen die Mobilitätswende, Energieinfrastruktur, Energieeffizienz sowie sonstige Energiewende-dienliche Projekte, wie Naturschutz, Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und Bildung.

Die ganze Bandbreite der Fördermöglichkeiten findest du im Kriterienkatalog zum Grüner Strom-Label. Ausgewählte Energiewende-Projekte findest du hier.

Das Grüner Strom-Label wird für einen Ökostromtarif vergeben, nicht für den Anbieter an sich. Die Labelkriterien beziehen sich demzufolge überwiegend auf den Tarif. So kann man das Grüner Strom-Label sowohl auf Tarife unabhängiger Ökostromanbieter als auch auf Tarife von Stadtwerken finden, die neben dem zertifizierten Ökostrom auch konventionellen Strom vertreiben.

Nichtsdestotrotz betrachtet die Grüner Strom-Zertifizierung auch Aspekte, die den Anbieter betreffen. So wird das Grüner Strom-Label keinem Unternehmen erteilt, das zum Stichtag 1.1.2027 noch direkt an einem Kohlekraftwerk beteiligt ist, d.h. ein Kohlekraftwerk selbst betreibt oder an einer Betreibergesellschaft mit Stammkapital/Grundkapital beteiligt ist. Die Beteiligung an Atomkraftwerken ist auch ein Ausschlusskriterium.

In unserem Tarifportal der Umweltverbände „vergleich-dich-gruen“ findest Du alle Tarife und kannst ganz einfach zu einem echten Ökostromtarif mit Grüner Strom-Label wechseln.

Der Begriff Ökostrom

Ökostrom ist elektrische Energie, die aus erneuerbaren Quellen stammt. Sie kann aus Solarstrahlung, Wind- und Wasserkraft, Biomasse, Erdwärme oder Klärgas erzeugt werden.

Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien ist ökologisch und sozial verträglich, weil das Klima geschützt und der Verbrauch fossiler, endlicher Ressourcen reduziert wird. Außerdem entstehen keine gefährlichen Abfallstoffe, wie beispielsweise radioaktiver Müll bei Atomkraftwerken.

Wenn man Ökostrom bezieht, heißt das nicht, dass aus der Leitung tatsächlich grüner Strom kommt. Jede erzeugte Kilowattstunde fließt in einen Stromsee, aus dem er dann an die Endkund:innen weiterverteilt wird. D.h. alle bekommen denselben physischen Strom. Doch jede:r einzelne Ökostromkund:in hilft dabei, den Stromsee immer grüner werden zu lassen.

Ökostrom bringt allerdings nicht automatisch die Energiewende voran. Dazu muss zusätzlich in den Ausbau von Erneuerbaren Energien investiert werden. Das garantieren Tarife, die das Grüner Strom-Label tragen.

Die zahlreichen Ökostromtarife, die auf dem Energiemarkt erhältlich sind, unterscheiden sich deutlich voneinander.

Der entscheidende Punkt bei einem Ökostromtarif ist, ob Verbraucher:innen mit ihrer Kaufentscheidung für einen zusätzlichen Umweltnutzen sorgen oder nicht. Ein zusätzlicher Umweltnutzen entsteht dann, wenn durch den Ökostrombezug der naturverträgliche Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien gefördert wird. Bei vielen Ökostromangeboten ist das nicht der Fall.

Um den Strommix grüner zu gestalten, ist es wichtig, Anreize für den Ausbau Erneuerbarer Energien zu geben – hier setzt das Grüner Strom-Label an: Wenn Du einen Tarif beziehst, der mit unserem Gütesiegel ausgezeichnet ist, kannst Du sicher sein, dass pro verbrauchter Kilowattstunde, Gelder in den Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien fließen. Die garantierten Investitionen in den naturverträglichen Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien sind ein wesentliches Unterscheidungsmerkmal gegenüber vielen anderen Ökostromlabels und Ökostromtarifen.

Bei Ökostromtarifen für Privatkund:innen müssen mindestens 0,5 Cent pro Kilowattstunde investiert werden. Viele Energieanbieter investieren auch mehr als 0,5 Cent pro Kilowattstunde.

Wenn du einen Stromtarif über das Tarifportal der Umweltverbände vergleichen willst, wird dir die Förderkomponente und somit dein Energiewende-Beitrag bei dem jeweiligen Energieanbieter angezeigt.

Bei Gewerbekund:innen liegt der Förderbeitrag aufgrund der höheren Verbrauchswerte niedriger: Sie staffeln sich von 0,1 Cent bis 0,4 Cent pro Kilowattstunde.

Ja. Ökostromtarife müssen nicht zwangsläufig ein Label tragen. Die Zertifizierung durch das Grüner Strom-Label oder andere Gütesiegel ist freiwillig. Es gibt Stromanbieter, die ganz darauf verzichten, ihre Tarife von unabhängiger Seite überprüfen zu lassen. Hier müssen Verbraucher:innen selbst entscheiden, wie glaubwürdig das Angebot ist.

Außerdem werden nicht die Energieanbieter zertifiziert, sondern nur die einzelnen Tarife. Weitere Informationen zu unserer Zertifizierung findest Du hier.

Herkunft von Ökostrom

Jeder Energieanbieter, der seinen Kund:innen Ökostrom verkauft, muss dafür Herkunftsnachweise des Umweltbundesamtes (UBA) verwenden und entwerten – das ist die gesetzliche Grundlage.

Herkunftsnachweise
Ein Herkunftsnachweis ist ein elektronisches Dokument, das ähnlich wie eine Geburtsurkunde funktioniert. Er bescheinigt, wie und wo Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien produziert wurde. Gleichzeitig sorgt dieses Dokument dafür, dass diese Qualität nur einmal verkauft werden kann.

Der gesetzlich vorgeschriebene Erwerb von Herkunftsnachweisen für den Verkauf von Ökostrom ist nicht ausreichend, um einen zusätzlichen Nutzen für die Umwelt zu erzeugen (siehe FAQ „Welche gesetzlichen Regeln gelten für die Beschaffung von Ökostrom?“ zur Erklärung „Herkunftsnachweis“). Grund dafür ist, dass die Nachweise unabhängig von den tatsächlichen Strommengen gehandelt werden können.

Nur wenn im Herkunftsnachweis die sogenannte optionale Kopplung verankert ist, kauft der Energieversorger für seine Ökostromkund:innen tatsächlich Strom aus einer erneuerbaren Erzeugungsanlage ein. Denn dann stammen Strom und Herkunftsnachweis aus demselben Ökokraftwerk. Bei der Grüner Strom-Zertifizierung ist eine solche gekoppelte Stromlieferung Pflicht. Verbraucher:innen, denen dies wichtig ist, sollten ihren Stromanbieter gezielt danach fragen oder bei der Tarifwahl auf das Grüner Strom-Label achten.

Eine gekoppelte Beschaffung ist aber nicht allein ausreichend, um die Energiewende voranzubringen. Es braucht dafür den Ausbau von erneuerbaren Erzeugungsanlagen – das ist DER garantierte Mehrwert von Grüner Strom-zertifizierten Tarifen (siehe dazu FAQ-Kapitel „Ökostrom mit Mehrwert“).

Ökostrom mit Mehrwert

Bei Grüner Strom-zertifizierten Ökostromtarifen fließen garantierte Investitionen in den Ausbau Erneuerbarer Energien. Die Investitionshöhe wird durch einen festgelegten Betrag je verbrauchter Kilowattstunde bestimmt. Somit beeinflusst dein Ökostrombezug mittelbar auch die Investitionen in die Energiewende. Die Förderbereiche umfassen die Mobilitätswende, Energieinfrastruktur, Energieeffizienz sowie sonstige energiewende-dienliche Projekte, wie Naturschutz, Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und Bildung.

Die ganze Bandbreite der Fördermöglichkeiten findest du im Kriterienkatalog zum Grüner Strom-Label. Ausgewählte Energiewende-Projekte findest du hier.

Beim Bau neuer regenerativer Energieerzeugungsanlagen definiert der Grüner Strom Label e.V. in vielen Fällen Umweltanforderungen, die über das gesetzlich vorgeschriebene Maß hinausgehen. Damit wird sichergestellt, dass die Fördergelder in Anlagen mit den höchsten Umweltstandards fließen.

Bevor Fördergelder in Projekte fließen, muss ein Konzept eingereicht und vom Grüner Strom Label e.V. freigegeben werden. Im Kriterienkatalog zum Grüner Strom-Label findest Du weitere Informationen hierzu.

Dank der Kund:innen der zertifizierten Ökostromtarife werden laufend Energiewende-Projekte realisiert. Auf unserer Deutschlandkarte kannst Du sehen, wo diese Anlagen und Projekte stehen, welche Leistung sie haben, wann sie gebaut und von welchem Anbieter sie gefördert wurden.

Zertifizierungsprozess und zertifizierte Tarife

Das Grüner Strom-Label ist das einzige Ökostromsiegel in Deutschland, das von führenden Organisationen der Zivilgesellschaft getragen wird. Eine Übersicht über unsere Trägerverbände findest Du hier.

Das Label wurde Ende 1998 auf Initiative von EUROSOLAR von mehreren gemeinnützigen Umwelt- und Verbraucherverbänden sowie Friedensorganisationen ins Leben gerufen, um den Ausbau Erneuerbarer Energien zu fördern und für Glaubwürdigkeit und Transparenz im entstehenden Ökostrommarkt zu sorgen. Durch die Arbeit der Trägerverbände in Vorstand und Mitgliederversammlung gestalten sie die Zertifizierung bis heute maßgeblich mit. Änderungen in den Kriterien des Labels beispielsweise müssen von allen Trägerverbänden genehmigt werden.

Das Grüner Strom-Label wird für einen Ökostromtarif vergeben, nicht für den Anbieter an sich. Die Labelkriterien beziehen sich demzufolge überwiegend auf den Tarif. So kann man das Grüner Strom-Label sowohl auf Tarife unabhängiger Ökostromanbieter als auch auf Tarife von Stadtwerken finden, die neben dem zertifizierten Ökostrom auch konventionellen Strom vertreiben.

Nichtsdestotrotz betrachtet die Grüner Strom-Zertifizierung auch Aspekte, die den Anbieter betreffen. So wird das Grüner Strom-Label keinem Unternehmen erteilt, das zum Stichtag 1.1.2027 noch direkt an einem Kohlekraftwerk beteiligt ist, d.h. ein Kohlekraftwerk selbst betreibt oder an einer Betreibergesellschaft mit Stammkapital/Grundkapital beteiligt ist. Die Beteiligung an Atomkraftwerken ist auch ein Ausschlusskriterium.

Die Stromanbieter haben sich vertraglich dazu verpflichtet, ihre zertifizierten Tarife für jedes Kalenderjahr überprüfen zu lassen. Dazu reichen sie Unterlagen ein, auf deren Grundlage geprüft wird, ob die Kriterien des Labels eingehalten wurden.

Die Ergebnisse werden in einem Gutachten zusammengefasst und von einem unabhängigen Institut und dem Vorstand validiert. Der Grüner Strom Label e.V. entscheidet daraufhin, ob das Label verlängert wird und welche Auflagen gegebenenfalls damit verbunden sind.

Energieversorger, die für einen Tarif das Grüner Strom-Label erhalten möchten, beantragen über Formblätter eine Erstzertifizierung. Spricht nichts gegen eine Zertifizierung, so schließen Grüner Strom Label e.V. und der Anbieter eine Labelvereinbarung ab, womit der Anbieter sich zur Einhaltung der Kriterien verpflichtet. Daraufhin wird das Label erteilt und der Vertrieb des Tarifs kann starten. Weitere Informationen zur Erstzertifizierung findest Du hier.

Nachfolgend wird spätestens alle zwei Jahre vom Grüner Strom Label e.V. geprüft, ob die Kriterien eingehalten wurden. Die Gutachten werden dann von der unabhängigen GUT Certifizierungsgesellschaft für Managementsysteme mbH und dem Vorstand validiert. Der Grüner Strom Label e.V. entscheidet daraufhin, ob das Label verlängert wird und welche Auflagen gegebenenfalls damit verbunden sind. Weitere Informationen zum Ablauf der Zertifizierung findest Du hier.

Ja, mit der Zertifizierung sind für den Labelnehmer Kosten verbunden:

  • eine Zertifizierungsgebühr, die alle zwei Jahre für die Erstellung der Gutachten erhoben wird und
  • eine Labelnutzungsgebühr, die jährlich erhoben wird und deren Höhe vom Absatz im zertifizierten Tarif abhängt.

Mit der Labelnutzungsgebühr wird die Geschäftsstelle des Grüner Strom Label e.V. finanziert. Sie bildet die Schnittstelle zwischen den Energieanbietern und den Vereinsgremien, begleitet die Zertifizierung, berät Verbraucher:innen sowie Energieanbieter und übernimmt für den Grüner Strom Label e.V. die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit.

Anbieter von Ökostrom mit Grüner Strom-Label

Alle Energieversorger, die zertifizierten Ökostrom anbieten, findest Du hier.

Darunter befinden sich mehrere bundesweite Anbieter sowie lokale und regionale Energieversorger. In unserem Tarifportal der Umweltverbände findest Du alle Tarife und kannst ganz einfach zu einem echten Ökostromtarif mit Grüner Strom-Label wechseln.

Unternehmen, die selbst Atomkraftwerke betreiben oder an solchen direkt beteiligt sind, können ihren Ökostrom nicht mit dem Grüner Strom-Label zertifizieren lassen.
Das Grüner Strom-Label wird zudem keinem Unternehmen erteilt, das zum Stichtag 1.1.2027 noch direkt an einem Kohlekraftwerk beteiligt ist, d.h. ein Kohlekraftwerk selbst betreibt oder an einer Betreibergesellschaft mit Stammkapital/Grundkapital beteiligt ist.

Die genannten Anforderungen an den Energieanbieter (keine Beteiligung an Kohle- und Atomkraftwerken) gelten gleichermaßen auch für direkte Muttergesellschaften, die mit mehr als 50 Prozent am Labelnehmer beteiligt sind, sowie direkte Tochtergesellschaften, an denen der Labelnehmer mit mehr als 50 Prozent beteiligt ist.

Wenn ein Energieanbieter in die Insolvenz geht, fallen die betroffenen Endkund:innen in der Regel zurück in die Grundversorgung des örtlichen Stadtwerkes – Strom und Gas fließen also weiter.

Der Grüner Strom Label e.V. fordert den Energieanbieter auf, seine Kund:innen über einen solchen Wechsel zu informieren. Auch vom örtlichen Grundversorger erhalten die Kund:innen in der Regel eine Information.

Das haben wir gemeinsam erreicht

Bei der Wahl eines zertifizierten Ökostrom- oder Biogastarifs unterstützt du die Energiewende direkt. Pro verbrauchter Kilowattstunde fließt ein fester Betrag in den Ausbau Erneuerbarer Energien – das ist nachhaltig gedacht.

1
zufriedene Ökostromkund:innen
1
zertifizierte Ökostromtarife
1
geförderte Energiewende-Projekte
1
investierte Fördergelder (€)
vergleich-dich-gruen.de Website auf-smartphone

Jetzt zu einem zertifizierten Ökostromtarif oder Biogastarif wechseln!

Es gibt bereits einige Vergleichsportale für Strom- und Gastarife. Wozu also ein weiteres?

Beim Vergleichsportal der Umweltverbände können Verbraucher:innen hochwertige und ausschließlich zertifizierte Ökostromtarife und Biogastarife vergleichen.

vergleich-dich-gruen bietet dir die Möglichkeit, über deine Kaufentscheidung aktiv an einer Energiewende mitzuwirken, die naturverträglich, dezentral, bürgernah, gemeinwohlorientiert, fair und schadstofffrei ist.

Bleibe auf dem Laufenden

Melde dich für unseren Newsletter an

Anrede*
     
Datenschutz*

Bitte beachte auch unsere Datenschutzhinweise.


Grüner Strom Label e.V. | Kaiserstraße 113 | 53113 Bonn | Deutschland
Tel: +49 (0)228 / 522 611-90 | E-Mail: info@gruenerstromlabel.de

Willst du mehr erfahren?

Dann nimm gerne Kontakt mit uns auf und folge uns auf Social-Media.

FAQ Grüner Strom-Label

Willkommen im Serviceportal

Auf dieser Seite finden Sie alle wichtigen Unterlangen rund um das Grüner Strom und Grünes Gas Label.

Grüner Strom-Label

Hier finden Sie alle Unterlagen über das Grüner Strom Label.

Mit dem Grüner Strom-Label ausgezeichnete Ökostromtarife garantieren Investitionen in naturverträgliche Energiewende-Projekte.

Grünes Gas Label

Hier finden Sie alle Unterlagen über das Grünes Gas Label.

Grünes Gas-Label

Grüner Strom Label

Links direkt zu den Unterbereichen:

Bereich 1

Bereich 1

Bereich 1

Bereich 1

Bereich 1

Mit dem Grüner Strom-Label ausgezeichnete Ökostromtarife garantieren Investitionen in naturverträgliche Energiewende-Projekte.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerin

Elisa Voß

Elisa Voß

Werkstudentin Online Kommunikation

Bereich 1

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

placeholder image LibreOffice Calc

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

Bereich 2

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

Grünes Gas Label

Links direkt zu den Unterbereichen:

Bereich 1

Bereich 1

Bereich 1

Bereich 1

Bereich 1

Bereich 1

Grünes Gas-Label

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Gruener-Strom-Mitarbeiter-Christian

Christian Knops

Leiter Grünes Gas-Zertifizierung

Bereich 1

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

placeholder image LibreOffice Calc

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

Bereich 2

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

PDF-Placeholder-icon

Kriterienkatalog

Der Kriterienkatalog...

Gemeinsam für die Energiewende

Ihre Ansprechpartner:innen

Elisa Voß

Elisa Voß

Werkstudentin Online Kommunikation

Gruener-Strom-Mitarbeiter-Christian

Christian Knops

Leiter Grünes Gas-Zertifizierung

Gruener-Strom-Mitarbeiterin-Nina

Nina Cernohorsky

Referentin Grünes Gas-, Grüner Strom Zertifizierung